SeeCao

Man (in) a Tee

Let there be Spring!

I’m tired of hiding.

For the past year I have been on a journey with a few of my peers. We’re trying to discover how God intersects with our every-day lives and how to ultimately love like Jesus does. I help lead this group and quite honestly, I don’t think I’ve done a very good job.

We have grown closer for sure, eating out quite often, sharing bits and pieces of our lives, playing board games, and spending time in Scripture. But I cannot seem to shake the feeling that I am somehow holding this group back from reaching their full potential, truly finding hope and joy, and falling in love with Jesus Christ. Don’t get me wrong, there have been awesome breakthroughs and sweet memories that were made. I long for something more.

I have grown very fond of the concept of Godly community over the past 10 months or so. The picture of a group of people who gather regularly, who lend support without being asked, who cheer the loudest for each other, who can sit in a chair and look up at the stars and just simply be with each other, who are not afraid to point out each others’ faults in love only to also be there with a helping hand; this appeals to me greatly.

The heart of true community is love and acceptance. Biblical fellowship gives others the benefit of the doubt; seeks the highest good of the other person, getting behind them so as to help with reach God’s goal and will for their lives; requires having a concern and a spirit of restoration, confession and forgiveness; involves encouragement and availability, spurring one another on to love and good deeds; and involves informality and flexibility in order to have fellowship grow in breadth and depth.

These things cannot happen unless one is truly known and desires to know others. You cannot have just one, both are required. I must confess, I have not made it easy for others to get to know me. I am tired of hiding, subconsciously or otherwise. I want to be known, and its scary. I believe what people tend to be afraid of is that others will get to know their true selves. But you know what? God loves my true self, in fact, He made me that way. He created your true self and it is good!

I may have been born with sin, but He is the great potter who continues perfecting me, molding me into His vision for my being. I am tired of seeing guilt and shame in the mirror. I want to see others and myself the way God sees them: fearfully and wonderfully made. This starts with me coming out of hiding. It’s Groundhog Day and Winter is over, let there be Spring!

groundhog

Do you find yourself hiding from the very people you wish to know you more deeply? Why do you think that is the case? We’ve all been hurt and have many scars that prove it. Are you willing to open up yourself to being burned again so that you may taste the exquisite flavor that is true community and Godly fellowship? I’m not sure what’s going to happen, but I’m going to give it a shot. Wish me luck!

…You’ve just heard a Cao go moo.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2015 by in Christian Life, Relationships and tagged , , .
