SeeCao

Man (in) a Tee

You are Killing Your Loved Ones

Your loved ones may be slowly killing you. How, you ask? By loving you too much.

Wait, what?! Yes, your loved ones may be slowly killing you by loving you too much. We’ve all heard about, or have experienced loved ones, (fathers, mothers, brothers, sisters, husbands, wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, friends, etc.), that are a little too overprotective or show favoritism in one way or another. Sometimes we are on the receiving end of that favoritism and we do not even realize what’s happening. But what if I told you that your loved ones are actually keeping you from a world of riches by loving you just a little TOO much?

Pictured below is a small book that I have been reading for the past year or so, Jesus Calling by Sarah Young. It is a Christian Devotional book written from the perspective of Jesus speaking to you. Here is what Jesus said the other day:

Jesus Calling

ENTRUST YOUR LOVED ONES TO ME; release them into My protective care. They are much safer with Me than in your clinging Hands. If you let a loved one become an idol in your heart, you endanger that one–as well as yourself. Joseph suffered terribly, as did his father, Jacob, because the father loved Joseph more than any of his other sons and they knew it! They hated Joseph and plotted against him. Ultimately, I used that situation for good, but Jacob and Joseph endured years of separation and suffering as a result of the father’s undisciplined favoritism.

I detest idolatry, even in the form of parental love, so beware of making a beloved child your idol. When you release loved ones to Me, you are free to cling to My hand. As you entrust others into My care, I am free to shower blessings on them.

Genesis 37:3-4; Ephesians 3:20; Exodus 33:14

Wow, you mean I can be cutting my loved one off from the all of the blessings Jesus has promised us? YES! How many times are we keeping our loved ones from experiencing the blessings that Jesus has in store for us by clinging on to them? How many parents out there are too worried to let their kids live because of the “dangers” of the world? How many boyfriends and husbands are cutting off his girlfriends’ or wives’ other relationships so that he can call her his? How many girlfriends and wives are so clingy that her boyfriends’ or husbands’ other relationships are snubbed out from sheer inattention?

Of course, this all from the Christian perspective: How are we, as Christians, able to hold on to the hand of Jesus and hold on to our loved ones’ hand if we are too busy using both hands to cling to our loved ones? We are killing our loved ones by not allowing them to claim the blessings that are to be showered upon them by God Himself. Why are we getting in the way of God? We know from our readings of the Bible that those who stand in God’s way are going to lose. Period.

If I had to choose between entrusting my loved ones to my care or entrusting my loved ones to the ever-loving, ever-encouraging, and ever-lasting God. I’m going to go with me.

No, just kidding. Of course God!

Let me leave you with something to think about. Yes, yes, it is still a dangerous past-time. Take a look at some of your relationships; see if you can identify signs of over-protectiveness, maybe being too clingy with others, perhaps some smothering going on. Okay, got them in mind? Good. Now who is the one perpetuating that type of relationship that is withholding all of God’s blessings and riches? Oh yeah, I went there.

Some of us have some work to do, myself included. I do not want to be the one who is keeping people from the riches of God just because of my own insecurities. Do you?

3 comments on “You are Killing Your Loved Ones

  1. Tiffany Crawford
    August 29, 2013

    This is especially true with kids…we love so much we want to rescue them from everything, but we just can’t…we have to trust God more than we love them….so hard for me!

    • jacob
      April 13, 2014

      yes, I seen it with my grandmother who favored some, and my now mother in law who favors one daughter greatly.

  2. Pingback: You are Killing Your Loved Ones | Love God, Love People, Change the World

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2013 by in Christian Life and tagged , , , , .
